Daily Archives: 16/08/2011

If Morrissey says it, so shall it be. #YoungTheGiant

Sameer, lead singer/Morrissey entrancer

So here’s what Morrissey had to say about California’s Young the Giant on his blog.

1 June 2011

YOUNG THE GIANT

Having suffered with relish so much yes-but-no new music, I could break down with happiness at the new – debut – CD by Young The Giant. I will be kneeling with gratitude on a hardwood floor for many years to come. It is the whole thing … it is the perfect tone … and Sameer’s voice is unbreakable.
If there is any justice in the world (and we all know there isn’t) Young The Giant will own most of it by August. It’s so easy to fire out remnants of snobbery where new music is concerned (in fact, I find it VERY easy), but once every three thousand years, a band comes along who restore that precious component of faith. Had I the gift of adequate words I would express more than mere thanks.
Instead, I shall leave it at that.

Morrissey / 1 June 2011

Well now we’ve got to hear them, don’t we? And here’s a fun sidenote: they blow you away. This morning on 5FM, the intro to My Body made it the first song to get me to turn the radio up in years.