Leonard Cohen live in 1985

One of my favourite poets performing at the Isle of Wight in 1970. I think it’s his soft, wet eyes, and the bit about the fireflies that makes this performance one of the ones I love the most.

He’s singing the song that’s inspired my next tattoo. I’m having ‘saved all my ribbons for thee’ printed along my collarbone. He varies the lyrics a bit in this live version, but they usually go like this:

Like a bird on the wire
Like a drunk in a midnight choir
I have tried in my way to be free

Like a worm on a hook
Like a knight from some old fashioned book
I have saved all my ribbons for thee

Oh, like a baby, stillborn
Like a beast with his horn
I have torn everyone who reached out for me

But I swear by this song
And by all that I have done wrong
I will make it all up to thee

About the anti-laugh

This blog is a shamelessly random collection of cool things, rants and nonsense. View all posts by the anti-laugh

Leave a Reply

