The Magic Numbers. The most adorable band of the last 10 years.

With the possible exception of She & Him.

The Magic Numbers are two sets of brothers and sisters – Romeo and Michele Stodart, and Angela and Sean Gannon. They all met at Weight Watchers and started a little band, or so the story goes.

Angela Gannon is one of the most compelling female vocalists I’ve ever heard. She’s contributed to other things, including backing vocals on The Boxer Rebellion’s Flashing Red Light Means Go.

Their sound is 1950s-esque clean, classic pop, and their stage presence is bashful and unassuming. The result is a band with songs that are disarming.

I never thought that I could feel there’s something
Rising, rising in my veins
Looks like it’s happened again

I wanna tell you that I never loved anyone else
You wanna tell me that you’re better off by yourself
But darling when I see you, you see me

About the anti-laugh

This blog is a shamelessly random collection of cool things, rants and nonsense. View all posts by the anti-laugh

Leave a Reply

