Ryan Adams & Laura Marling

Yesterday, Adams performed Oh My Sweet Carolina with notorious Mumford & Sons collaborator Laura Marling. Marling handled the daunting task of offering up vocals originally offered by Emmylou Harris who, as we know, is the whole thing.

Something happens to me when Ryan Adams plays harmonica. I’m not right.

This ballad for a place, reminds me of something Justin Vernon said about what places are (because my head is an endless game of Six Degrees to Bon Iver).

The whole record’s about what we refer to as different places. I might be like, “Where are you at?” And you’re like, “That’s a place.” Like, not just New York. It’s like, I’m thirtysomething. I’m doing this. People have a relationship with a place they’ve never been. You can romanticize about a place. You can dream about a place. So Bon Iver is like a time and a place, or a city and a state, or a state of mind or something.

– Justin Vernon

I miss Kentucky and I miss my family
All the sweetest winds they blow across the south
Oh my sweet Carolina
What compels me to go
Oh my sweet disposition
May you one day carry me home

About the anti-laugh

This blog is a shamelessly random collection of cool things, rants and nonsense. View all posts by the anti-laugh

2 responses to “Ryan Adams & Laura Marling

  • Julia Drummond (@JuliaVarlamova)

    Just curious why are you referring to Laura as “notorious Mumford and Sons” collaborator as if her talent and success has something to do with them. Don’t get me wrong I love Mumford and Sons but that phrase seemed a bit odd.

    • the anti-laugh

      I don’t know if collaborating with another act does imply that you’re successful because of them, does it? If anything, I think they’ve both gotten some traction off the Marling/Mumford collaborations. It’s just happened so often now, it would be odd not to mention it, wouldn’t it?

Leave a Reply

