My favourite corner of Adele’s 21

The 21 album is a fairly comprehensive catalogue of everything that happens in a person’s mind when their relationship ends, and it’s nearly impossible not to relate to a part of it. This obviously comes once you’ve put yourself back together after her shattering talent blows you away.

Everyone’s had lots of breakups, and they all mean something, but I think the part that moves me the most is what she sings about in Don’t You Remember.

I do relate to the part about him leaving “without a word“, because that is a common curse for fearless women who love fearful men, as she seems to have done – when they go, the actual act of it can be cowardly.

But what strikes me more than that is what she says about the feeling of not knowing that everything is broken.

I had no idea of the state we were in

I think that means that as far as she knew, everything was the same, which is tragic because that means things were broken for a long time and she had grown comfortable in her unhappiness.

But it’s the rationalist that comes out, picking at the maths of that love in its fallout – it was wonderful once for a very specific reason, and that reason hasn’t changed, so shouldn’t it still… be wonderful?

But, as we know, that’s not how these things work.

I know I have a fickle heart, and bitterness
And a wandering eye, and a heaviness in my head

But baby please remember, you used to love me.

About the anti-laugh

This blog is a shamelessly random collection of cool things, rants and nonsense. View all posts by the anti-laugh

Leave a Reply

