Henry Rollins takes Oliver James’ Man Test

Who else can you think of, currently alive, who can bring you to tears with his articulacy?

James: Who are the people who you do allow to come close?

Rollins: Nobody, really.

James: Why do you think that is?

Rollins. Um. Uh, let’s see. I don’t know if I have a real fear of intimacy, but I’ve probably convinced myself that I don’t need it. And also, I’m pretty sure that if somebody got really close, there might not be anything there.

Rollins: If I were a woman, I would want a man. I would want a man who would listen to me, not hit me, be smart, know about poetry and literature. Not be like this guy with his knuckles scraping the ground, like some drooling Neanderthal.

I’d want an articulate, sensitive man… who could whoop that ass. I’m not interested in the pseudo-intellectual man who can quote Proust, who has soft hands, and when the heavy stuff comes down, he’s gonna be like “But Plutonius said!”

About the anti-laugh

This blog is a shamelessly random collection of cool things, rants and nonsense. View all posts by the anti-laugh

Leave a Reply

